Art Gallery to feature Mark McCombs’ 3D & Fractal Art

Liquidambar Studio of Art will be featuring 3D art from our very own Mark McCombs! His art will be featured from June 2 to July 28th. Please join Mark for the opening night on June 2, from 2:00 – 4:00 pm! Liquidambar Studio of Art, 80 Hillsboro Street, Pittsboro, NC.

Click here for more information

Jason Metcalfe receives 2019 Faculty Award for Excellence in Doctoral Mentoring

Jason Metcalfe, professor of mathematics at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, has received the 2019 Faculty Award for Excellence in Doctoral Mentoring.

With this annual award, The Graduate School recognizes a faculty member who: encourages students to establish their own record of scholarly activity or performance, provides a supportive environment that facilitates the development of best performance and talents from individual graduate students, and achieves a successful record of graduate degree completion among the students they have advised.

Congratulations, Jason, on this outstanding honor!

To read the full article, please click here.

Katrina Morgan wins 2019 Boka Hadzija Award

Congratulations to Katrina Morgan, who won the 2019 Boka Hadzija Award! This is a Chancellor’s Award that is given to a graduate or professional student with outstanding character, scholarship, leadership, and service to the University. Katri’s service and scholarship has been previously recognized with an Association for Women in Mathematics Student Chapter Award for Community Outreach, the University Award for the Advancement of Women, a Dissertation Completion Fellowship, a Thomas S. Kenan III Graduate Fellowship, and induction in the Frank Porter Graham Graduate and Professional Student Honor Society. After completing her doctorate this year, she will attend a semester long program at the Mathematical Sciences Research Institute as a Gamelin Endowed Postdoctoral Fellow and, following that, she will commence a postdoctoral position at Northwestern University.

We are proud of all that Katri has accomplished! Congratulations to her!

Three Mathematics Students Earn Prestigious NSF Funded Graduate Research Fellowships!

We are excited to announce that three students in the Department of Mathematics have earned prestigious National Science Foundation funded Graduate Research Fellowships (  We congratulate second year graduate student Samantha Moore, first year graduate student Maddie Brown, and undergraduate Keshav Patel on this remarkable achievement.

Michael Strayer and Katrina Morgan inducted into FPG Honor Society

On Monday, April 8, Department of Mathematics graduate students Katrina Morgan and Michael Strayer were inducted into the Frank Porter Graham Graduate and Professional Student Honor Society.  This honor recognizes outstanding service to the university and to the community.  Katrina and Michael are the first inductees from the Department of Mathematics since 1994.  Both have served as officers of the Graduate Student Association for Mathematics, for the local chapter of the Association for Women in Mathematics (AWM), and for the local Graduate Student Chapter fo the American Mathematical Society (AMS).  Both have been mentors through the AWM chapter and through the new Directed Reading Program, which pairs interested undergraduate and graduate students for intensive one on one study.  Moreover, Katrina’s work as a co-founder and co-director of the Girls Talk Math ( summer program and Michael’s work as the founder and first president of the Graduate Student Chapter of the AMS, which first brought the TAGMAC ( conference to UNC, have been particularly influential.

We are very proud of Katrina and Michael’s achievements,  Congratulations to them!

Boyce Griffith, Associate Professor, featured in Carolina Endeavors

In his youth, Boyce Griffith was writing computer programs before he could drive a car. Now a UNC mathematician, he creates computational models of the human heart to improve the prediction and treatment of cardiac diseases. Click here to read the entire article:

Katie Newhall chosen by APS as an Outstanding Referee

Congratulations to our very own Katie Newhall, Assistant Professor, who has been chosen among the 143 Outstanding Referees of the Physical Review journals!

The American Physical Society (APS) has selected 143 Outstanding Referees for 2019 that have demonstrated exceptional work in the assessment of manuscripts published in the Physical Review journals. A full list of the Outstanding Referees is available online at

Instituted in 2008, the Outstanding Referee program annually recognizes approximately 150 of the currently active referees for their invaluable work. Comparable to Fellowship in the APS and other organizations, this is a lifetime award. The selection this year was made from 30 years of records on over 71,000 referees who have been called upon to review manuscripts, including more then 40,000 that were submitted in 2018. The basis for the Outstanding Referees selection takes into account the quality, number and timeliness of a referee’s reports, without regard for membership in the APS, country of origin, or field of research. Individuals with current or very recent direct connections to the journals, such as editors and editorial board members, were excluded.

Press Release – Outstanding Referee 2019

Congratulations, Katie!!