2011-12 Recap: New research grants awarded to Mathematics faculty

Following up on the good news in last week’s post about the NSF MRI award to the Fluids Lab, we are overdue to celebrate the variety of new federal research grants awarded to faculty in the Department of Mathematics over the past year.

This list represents only new awards led out of the Department in the one-year period ending June 30, 2012. Importantly, as many such awards are for multiple years, it does not include the many continuing research grants in the Department that were initially awarded in previous years. The list also likely misses some interdisciplinary activities in the Department that are in collaboration with faculty in other departments where the proposal was sent through the other department. Even without these caveats, it is an impressive list for the year.

Where available, hyperlinks to more information about the specific award are provided.

National Science Foundation:

Air Force Office of Scientific Research:

  • Greg Forest & Peter Mucha, Multiscale Mathematics of Nano-Particle-Endowed Active Membranes and Films

Army Research Office:

  • Jim Damon, Comparing Mathematical Models and Experimental Data for Intake Capacity Distributions for Plant Root Structures

National Institute of General Medical Sciences:

Office of Naval Research:

  • Roberto Camassa & Rich McLaughlin, A Desalinization Facility for Stratified Fluid Dynamics Research at the UNC Joint Fluids Laboratory
  • Chris Jones, Data Assimilation and Control in Oceanography

Congratulations to all involved!

2011-12 Recap: Greg Forest named as a SIAM Fellow

Prof. M. Gregory Forest, a Grant Dahlstrom Distinguished Professor of Mathematics with joint appointment in the Department of Biomedical Engineering, was named to the Class of 2012 Fellows of the Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics (SIAM). The SIAM Fellows Program designates “certain members who have made outstanding contributions to fields served by SIAM.”

The text accompanying the naming of Forest as a Fellow singles him out for “contributions to integrable and nearly integrable partial differential equations, material science, and to polymeric, liquid crystalline, and biological and biomedical fluid mechanics.”

Forest becomes the second member of the Department of Mathematics to be named to the list of SIAM Fellows, in only the 4th year of the Fellows Program.

Forest joins our colleague Prof. Christopher K. R. T. Jones, a Bill Guthridge Distinguished Professor of Mathematics, who was named as a SIAM Fellow in the Class of 2011. Jones’ designation as a Fellow identified him for “contributions to dynamical systems, nonlinear partial differential equations, and applications in nonlinear optics, ocean dynamics, and neuroscience.”

Congratulations to Greg and Chris for these well-earned honors.